How Do I Find My Passion? What’s My Purpose?


These questions have plagued me for a large portion of my life.  As far back as I can remember, I’ve been searching for my purpose, my passion, and how to be great enough to make a positive impact with my life on a huge number of people (that’s just me).

The answers were simpler than I thought (in my opinion, of course).   The answers were lingering right there behind every sacred beat my heart dared to pump.   There isn’t one set purpose for anyone.  We fulfill many purposes day in and day out or month after month and year after year.  We are all great (in our own way)!  It isn’t the magnitude of what we accomplish, but the way in which we execute our plan.  This earns our keep in maintaining the grandeur title “great”.

We may have made a certain someone smile or we may have built an empire full of material prizes with a limitless financial potential.  In any event, the only thing that really matters is how we feel while we’re doing what we’re doing and that it doesn’t feel like a chore-as we’re doing it.

To find my passion, I always took on multiple projects at the same damn time (inside joke).   This allowed me to test my skills, abilities, steadfastness (to a certain degree).  I sampled life by delving into various careers.  For a long time, I thought my passion was in the career that I performed best or the one which enabled me to make top buck!  I was fooled!  That was a lie.

Our passion is what we can do for free, day in and day out.  Our passion can even be our hobbies.  Think for a second or think on it until you have a solid answer.  If you had all the money in the world or if you were a billionaire, what would you do in your spare time?  Or what would you do once you bought everything you possibly wanted?  what would you do when you were bored?  The answer to this question is your passion.  It could be cooking,  caring for your children or your loved ones, taking on various business ventures, playing a sport, shopping, writing,  volunteer work, donating, making music, reading, watching television (means you like like people and deep down inside-possibly acting,or movie making), teaching,  video games (means you want to control your life but use games to make it easier and can be a form of sleeping or a reality escape), and so on.  Sorry-sleeping doesn’t count-lol.  If you sleep more than the average person, it’s usually due to your diet, your health, or you might be depressed (not the end of the world-this can be fixed).  But everything mentioned above (except a passion for sleeping) can be monetized or turned into a career.  It just takes a little courage and introspection to take the next step.

Remember, when we’re doing what we love as a career, we’ll never work another day in our lives!  We only get one life (as far as I know)!

Our purpose is still being fulfilled as long as we’re still living.  Our passion is directly related to our purpose.

“We aren’t given dreams without the means to achieve them.”

Napoleon Hill

All of our dreams can be attained.  My dreams are different from yours and yours vary from your neighbor’s…but the thing to remember is that we have all the means to achieve our dreams (whether we know it or not).  We also have the circle of influence to make our dreams happen (whether we tap into it or not-6 degrees of separation).    These thoughts of what we aspire to do and become usually aren’t random.  They’re snapshots of what can happen if we take advantage of the cards we’re dealt and when we embrace who we are and engage ourselves within our passions.

Categories: VENT TAB

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

1 reply

Comment and speak your mind. You might just change someone's life.

